In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think te advantages of driverless vechicles outweigh the disadvantages.?

With the development in the field of technology like artificial intelligence and machine learning, it has brought in many advancements in the automobile industry. As a result, one such invention is autonomous vehicles which was a distant dream a few decades ago has become a reality now. However there are pros and cons of this discovery, I strongly believe the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages. To begin with, automatic vehicles like trucks,cars and flights fundamentally depend on machine learning and other advanced technologies. As a result, machines can sometimes malfunction which may lead to disastrous results on road. To illustrate, Tesla is a pioneer in producing autonomous vehicles, during their initial rollout phase, there were many accidents reported,even the death of a few passengers. In addition to this, if all these vehicles become driverless thousands of drivers who make their living in this profession can lose their jobs when technology takes over, this can leave a detrimental effect on the community. On the other hand, in this era of modernization time is an important asset. Driverless vehicles can save many from tiring driving experience, especially in metros such as Mumbai and Banglore where the traffic congestion is painful which leaves a negative impact both physically and mentally as a result more accidents tend to happen. Moreover with these technologies, human-related errors and work-hours-related limits can be minimized. For example, there are government regulations that allow a driver to drive not more than 8 hrs, this rule has caused delays in logistics, and supply chain and affects the economy. With driverless vehicles these issues can be addressed. Furthermore, we can save fuel costs as the crude oil prices are extremely high and also there will be a major improvement in air quality. To conclude, although there are a few downsides like high insurance costs,technical issues,privacy concerns,unemployment and maintenance cost.I firmly believe that the benefits of this technology outweigh the drawbacks.