In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

These days, due to the advancement in technologies, machinery and awareness it has become really difficult for a senior secondary student to decide a career in various fields. In some countries, teenagers are motivated to work or travel before starting university studies. In this essay, both benefits and drawbacks will be discussed before my opinion is reached. For advantages, the first benefit of working before the starting of undergraduate courses is to develop an interest in any particular course or stream, as it allows the young people to explore new skills and techniques. For example, I can work as a foreman and gain knowledge about the basics of Civil Engineering before commencing my coursework. Moreover, it will also help them in their resume where they can show this as an internship or job experience. Even though the students will gain a clear vision for their future but it also has some drawbacks. To begin with, it can put them behind their classmates in the freshmen year of university. To illustrate, when I will join the college as a rookie my friends have already completed their first year. Furthermore, if someone travels for a year then it will show as a gap year on their resume. Therefore, it can lead to further questions. In conclusion, this essay presented both pros and cons of the young people working on travelling before ending college, I think that its benefit including, a clear vision of the future and more opportunities in job outweighs its demerits