Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way.

Recently, there is increased use of various platforms of social media and it is undeniable that it has become a big part of human life. Although some believe that the more time we spend online, the less close in a real-life relationship. From my point of view, social media has its own benefits that why there is a continuous increase in the number of people using them. The reasons to support my opinion will be discussed. There are a lot of social platforms these days, for example, Facebook, Twitter and the famous one, Instagram. All mentioned before are websites or applications in which we can leave some messages, pictures and videos of our own, and others are allowed to put the like button, comment or share on what we have posted online. Thus, what you have said, things you are interested in, or places you have been to are all exposed to the public and friends of yours. Moreover, social apps are developed to suggest what you are looking for, as a result, what you have been searching for lately will more and more come into your sight and you could also meet others who share the same interest with you. This can result in an online community as well. As for me, it is one way to communicate with people no matter how far from each other. People in distance can become so closed. Furthermore, it is way easier to make known to an acquaintance online by leaving messages for them to reply to than to introduce yourself to someone face-to-face when you are not so closed. After that, both of you could also be friends in real life if you further develop your relationship. To conclude, social media sites play a big role in bringing online people together, which is another form of a social community. Although it is time-consuming if one spends excess time online, its benefits outweigh its drawbacks.