Some people say it is more important to spend money on roads and highways than on public transportation systems such as railways and buses. I agree that both systems have their advantages and disadvantages. I will discuss this topic by comparing them in the following paragraphs.

First, roads and highways play a crucial role in daily life. Without well-maintained roads, we cannot drive to the nearest drugstores, grocery stores, and hospitals by car. Similarly, we cannot receive any product purchased online as soon as we now do if it were not highways because it is usually trucks that bring us the products anywhere we want. Therefore, a certain cost is inevitable for local governments to preserve roads and highways. Second, some have argued that public transportation is no longer necessary. They stated that they do not need buses, trains, or taxis if they have their own cars. As an increasing number of people own their private cars for themselves, public transportation cannot gain enough profits for maintenance in some rural areas. In fact, many local bus and rail companies have started to shrink their service ranges. It may take little time to eradicate local public transportation systems in the future. However, I strongly disagree with the idea that traffic roads and traffic services far outweigh public transportation because we still need it, and the heavy use of private cars causes some problems as well. For instance, whenever we are drunk, we cannot drive a car in Japan, as driving in a drunk status is illegal and dangerous, killing many people every year. Thus, we must use public transportation when we are not in good health. In addition, excessive traffic causes traffic jams, which worsens air pollution in the city area and leads us to delay important schedules. For many opportunities, it is recommended to use public transportation to the destination according to this reason. Accordingly, a public transportation system is necessary in our lives, which must be preserved. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the expense of maintaining public transportation is important, as are the roads and highways for local governments. Although there are some merits and demerits for both sides, people should understand and use them wisely.