In marriages today, some argue that it is the responsibility of both spouses to earn a living for the family. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Marriage is a sacred union where each individual tries to help each other in all ways. Nowadays, few people are debating that husband and wife are responsible to earn for the needs of the family. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on this attitude and in the end, I will give my own opinion with relevant examples. To start with, the main benefit of having two people earning in a household is that it will generate extra income that will give more advantages to the family in the future, whereas, if only one person is working, their financial status will only be limited. For instance, if the family gets bigger and has children, there will be some extra expenditures such as education, clothing and so on. Clearly, having additional monetary support from two people can lessen the burden of their future plans and making their needs will not be a challenge as well. Secondly, the positive side of having both partners get a career is that it will save the family from emergencies. For example, if one of them loses his\her job for any reason, it will affect them financially but at least the support of the other is still there which can cover their financial needs for a certain period of time while the person is searching for another opportunity. Therefore, it is essential to have two sources of income to save the family from unforeseen hardships. In conclusion, this essay elaborates on the importance of each spouse’s responsibility to earn a living in order to cover the expenses of the family. In my own opinion, I strongly agree that generating additional monetary support can greatly back up the future needs of marriage, especially when the family grows.