In the past, the main role of teachers was providing information. Today with various sources of information available to students, teachers have no role in modern education.  To what extent do you agree or disagree?

ONE WIDELY HOLD OPINION IS THAT THE MAIN PURPOSE OF TEACHERS ’ EXISTENCE IS TO OFFER INFORMATION. STUDENTS IN CURRENT SOCIETY CAN HAVE ACCESS TO AMOUNTS OF INFORMATION, AS A CONSEQUENCE TEACHERS ARE NOT SIGNIFICANT AS BEFORE. I TOTALLY DISAGREE WITH THIS STATEMENT. THE INTERNET PROVIDES LEARNERS WITH ABUNDANT INFORMATION AND MAKES THE PROCESS OF OBTAINING INFO MORE EFFICIENT, CONVENIENT AND INTERESTING, AND IN THIS SENSE TEACHERS CAN BE SEEN AS UNNEEDED. TO AN EXTENT, WHEN A STUDENT WANTS TO KNOW THE HISTORY OF FRENCH, SHE CAN EASILY FIND VARIOUS SOURCES, WHICH RANGE FROM VIVID ILLUSTRATIONS TO PROFOUND ARTICLES. NEVERTHELESS, ONLY WITH TEACHERS CAN SELECT THE MOST SUITABLE material, NO MATTER WHERE THE INFORMATION COMES FROM AND EMPLOY DIFFERENT STRATEGIES SUITED TO THE PARTICULAR GROUP OF LEARNERS. APART FROM THE MOST OBVIOUS FUNCTION OF TEACHERS DISCUSSED ABOVE, THEY PLAY A KEY ROLE IN MORAL EDUCATION AND SOCIAL SKILLS LEARNING. THE COMPETITION IN ADULT LIFE IS SO FIERCE THAT ONLY EQUIPPING WITH ACADEMIC KNOWLEDGE IS NOT ADEQUATE. UNDER THE GUIDANCE OF TEACHERS, STUDENTS CAN UNDERSTAND HOW TO BEHAVE PROPERLY AND BECOME PRODUCTIVE MEMBERS OF SOCIETY. MOREOVER, THE SAME IS TRUE FOR SOCIAL SKILLS. IF A STUDENT IS RICH IN KNOWLEDGE BUT WEAK IN SOCIAL SKILLS, THERE IS LITTLE POSSIBILITY FOR HIM TO BECOME A WELL-ADJUSTED ADULT. TO SUM UP, ALTHOUGH THE ADVENT OF MODERN TECHNOLOGY BRINGS ABOUT AMPLE INFORMATION FOR STUDENTS, STUDENTS REQUIRE MORE DIRECTION IN TERMS OF STANDARD OF UPRIGHT CONDUCT AND SOCIAL SKILLS, SO THE ROLE OF TEACHER IS LESS LIKELY TO BE REPLACED.