Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think that they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

The revolution of plastic had brought great convenience to humans in their daily life. In contrast, it also caused an enormous amount of damage to the planet by causing territorial and marine pollution. The only solution to prevent further harmful effects on the ecosystem seems to be banning the usage of plastic completely which I strongly agree with. In this essay, I will argue about the problems of soil degradation and the threat to the ecosystem which are imperative to the dismissal of plastic in our lives. First and foremost, plastic is non-bio-degradable material and it takes over millions of years to decompose into the soil. Even after the breakdown of plastic, it gets disintegrated into microplastic and then into nanoparticles. In this process, many harmful chemicals are released into the soil thus preventing microorganisms from nourishing the soil and thus resulting in the degradation of soil. As a result, the food chain gets impacted and this proves that there is an immediate need to stop land pollution by eliminating plastic from our daily use. Secondly, the plastic that gets into the seas is a big threat to marine animals. The sea fishes, turtles and other marine mammals can get entangled with the plastic and die from suffocation, starvation and drowning. It is estimated that up to 13 million tons of plastic end up in the ocean each year. If we continue this trend, the total ecosystem would be in irreversible danger. Therefore, it is crucial to completely substitute the shopping bags with other materials like jute or cotton which are easily degradable. In conclusion, I strongly perceive an urgent need to ban the usage of plastic bags and replace them with bio-degradable material: It helps sustain the ecosystem of land and marine animals and prevent soil degradation.