In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for the government. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is thought that the issue of age has raised countless controversies. Many people say that countries with an increasing number of old citizens are suffering severely from a burden, while others believe that this development may bring about some benefits in society. I would argue that there are far more benefits, which will be discussed in the paragraphs below. On the one hand, a major disadvantage is that old people will affect the issue of budget deficit through subsidies in monetary, insurance, facilities, and infrastructure,... For illustration, according to the law in Vietnam elderly people, especially those who are over sixty years old, are given subsidies by the authority. In fact, many countries in the world will rectify the problem in insurance that free-of-charge cure and the construction of nursing homes for elderly people. Consequently, the government must increase the tax on citizens to take care of the old people. Plus, they need to build policies leading to the consumption of human resources. On the other hand, elderly people bring more benefits and translate in some cases such as creating strategy in the sector military and hard skills, seeing that old people have experience in the past, they can use their skills to serve the country. Another essential point to consider is that old people can make job opportunities that resolve the unemployment of young people. For instance, some countries in the world have a lack of human resources in health care services for old citizens, which facilitates a prospective career for young citizens. This will help the young improve their bread-and-butter situation and increase income. Therefore, that the government accommodates the elderly people will bring many benefits to society and the community. To sum it up, despite the potential disadvantages that an aging population brings, I believe this phenomenon should be considered to have more significant advantages for the well-being of society, the economy, and politics. What actually matters would be the government should look very far enough ahead to put appropriate policies as both the young and aging populations appear to be temporary.