Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The advanced transportation system in this modern society encourages people’s movements worldwide. In fact, a large number of people decided to leave their home country and pursue better education or work environment. However, we cannot underestimate the drawbacks of living in a foreign country which uses a different language from the following practical and cultural perspectives. First of all, the language gap might make it difficult for newcomers to solve the technical problems that they will face during the settlement period. Specifically, I struggled to make a bank transfer for my accommodation bill when I initially moved to the UK. Due to communication failure, I went to the branches several times to gain the final solution. If I had understood what the clerks said fully, I could have saved the wasted time in the first three weeks. In addition to the technical issues mentioned above, foreign people often feel offended or isolated, as they lack an understanding of cultural background about how the language is used. In some languages such as German and American English, people are inclined to use direct expressions, which might harm those from indirect cultures like Japan. Some professors are To summarise, life using a different language from our mother tongue may cause issues related with daily lives as well as our social lives. We have to pay more attention to the negative impact on people’s minds when we face international students and workers. Thus, the adjustment to a new society requires others' support for their unique issues.