Today, the high sales of popular consumers goods reflect the power of advertising and not real need of society in which they are sold. What extent do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays a majority of consumer products purchased by people is not the reflection of customers' actual needs but the impact of advertisements on buyers. Although some portion of the popular goods might be consumed for real demands, I completely agree that ads significantly contribute to high sales of those products. Firstly, marketing strategies of well-known companies are mainly designed based on encouraging people to buy goods and services even if they do not need them. We stumble upon with advertisements on a constant basis whether we are at home or outside commuting to somewhere. Businesses mainly utilize aggressive marketing strategises to influence buyers' buying decisions by featuring their ads almost in all possible platforms. For example, a typical social media user always comes across with numerous ads when they scroll up and down through their feeds. Even placing some promotions in YouTube videos that cannot be skipped unless certain seconds passed is the example of this trend. These measures impact people unconsciously and lead them to make impulse purchasing decisions. Secondly, in order to increase the effectiveness of their marketing campaigns, companies tend to invite some celebrity figures to their ads. They realize the power of the prominent people's influence on society. There are numerous individuals who always try to emulate their favorite actors or singers and consider them a role model. Therefore, the fans of those particular famous people will not hesitate to splurge money on the products their idols consume. As a result, businesses will endeavor to use the power of this method and increase their revenues and profits. To conclude, a dramatic increase in the supply of certain goods and services can be explained by the power of the advertisements, especially when they are combined with the appearances of public figures and frequent exposure of customers.