It is too expensive to look after and repair old buidings.This money should be spent on building modern building instead.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that it is too costly to maintain historical sites and finances should be allocated to the construction of new buildings rather.I oppose this view because historical site serves as a source of income, and employment and portrays our rich culture. This essay will explain in detail the reasons for my stance in the subsequent paragraphs with examples. To begin with,investing in repairing old buildings is beneficiary because it brings income.A lot of foreigners visit places of interest to know more about the place.They pay tour fees to the tour guides which serves as a source of revenue for the government. Although the government will benefit,tourists make waste. Moreover,there are a lot of people employed in those places which serve as a source of employment for them.If the government do not allocate money for maintenance,a lot of inhabitants will be unemployed. For example in Ghana,about 20 per cent of the citizens are employed in the Tourism Industry. Therefore bringing the unemployment rate down and for inhabitants to earn a living. Secondly,allocating funds to maintain a historical site is important because it tells us about our culture.Tourists visit such places to know the history of the place. Besides,student benefits by using those places for their educational visit. For instance,in my,school we visit Nzulezu every year as part of our curriculum to know the history of our country. Thus helping them to have more knowledge about their historical site. In conclusion,revenue generation and the history of the sites are the two main reasons allocating funds to maintain these sites are not costly but rather advantageous to the citizens as a whole.