Some people feel that it is necessary to test new medicines on animals, while other people feel that this is not fair on animals and not necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue today is the use of animals as experimental subjects in medically based studies. Some people claim that scientists have no choice but to check their newly developed drugs on animals, whereas others believe that testing new medicines on animals is morally flawed and unnecessary. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then give my own opinion on the matter. To begin, on one side of the argument, there are people who argue that the benefits of testing new drugs on animals considerably outweigh its disadvantages. Moreover, the main reason for believing this is that only by testing the pharmaceutical on animals, one can know about the dangers and possible side effects of that drug, especially animals such as rats and cows, which are close to humans in terms of their genetic structure, can determine the negative effects that the drug under development will have on society. Furthermore, it is also possible to say that if animals are not used as test subjects, humans should be used instead, which is more unethical and harmful than testing on animals. Thus, humans have to use animals as test subjects for their own survival. However, on the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact abusing animals for biological experiments without the animals ' permission is a violation of their rights and is a crime. People often hold this view because they believe that animals have souls and therefore have rights, as a result, taking their lives is immoral regardless of the reason. As well as this, a second point is that with the advancement of technology in the field of science, one can look for other ways than using animals as subjects for chemical and biological experiments, and scientists must find new ways to check their new remedies. For example, until ten years ago, animals were used to experiment with new cosmetics, but scientists were able to find a new way to test cosmetics on artificial faces and stopped using animals. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel it is justified to use animals as subjects to observe and understand the side effects and influences of pills. In addition, this is because no matter how important an animal's life is, human life is still more important, and physicists are obliged to experiment with their new drugs on animals until they find a new way.