Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

Most of the tourist places have many museums as well as sites of historical relevance. However, such places are majorly visited by foreign visitors rather than the natives. This essay intends to discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon, and suggest some ways to ameliorate this problem before drawing a reasonable conclusion. To commence with, there are various reasons why a majority of visitors prefer to go to historical monuments. The first and foremost is that they are fascinated by these the history of host countries. Thus, in order to explore and learn more about the culture of the host country, they go on a vacation to these areas. Local individuals, on the other hand, do not have anything extraordinary to view at such buildings and museums as they do not undergo regular upgradation. As a result, they find it sheer wastage of their money. To cite an example, the Qutub Minar in Delhi has not been renovated over the years. Moving further, several steps can be taken to influence local people to go to sites with historical relevance. The first step could be providing free-of-cost entry to individuals belonging to nearby cities. For instance, the Art Museum in sector 10, Chandigarh, invites students from local schools without charging any entry fee. This attracts children's parents as well. Moreover, historical areas should be maintained and renovated from time to time so that natives visit them more often. In conclusion, I reiterate that although historical monuments and museums attract more visitors because they do not undergo regular changes, still authorities can attract local people also by improving these places and providing free entry on specific days.