Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many hold the view that the offenders that commit the same crime should be punished equally, while there are different opinions that the sentence should be given separately depending on the diverse factors. This essay discusses both sides of the argument and why I believe that punishment is dependent on not only the actions, but also the motive and background back then, although the same consequence deserves only one method of judgement. To begin with, since the implications are equally bad, one particular crime can ask for one specific punishment, such as the death penalty can be conducted if one murders another person. In addition, judges and courts can work more efficiently, if the imprisonment is fixed. Moreover, some criminals may give up the mindset of escaping a trial, after knowing there definitely will be an arrest, even though they break the law in imprudent status. Without a fixed punishment, they may carry the thoughts that they would not be put behind the bars. On the other hand, taking all circumstances and possibilities into consideration is more of humanity, since there are comprehensive reasons in the crime scene. Also, innocent people, who are involved in a case by mistake, have an opportunity to get rid of the notorious reputation. Furthermore, there is a complex range of factors causing a lawbreaker violates the law. As a result, the court should not determine this person’s crime only due to the conduct. In conclusion, a sentence should take various elements into account including the background of the case, personal relationship, and motivation, though deciding how an offender should be punished in a simple way makes the procedure faster.