Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

English is recognised as a mandatory language in many countries and has become a language of conversation. People argue that studying English as a compulsory subject is far more recommended than getting trained in the local language, or it can affect survival in this modern world. In my opinion, understanding the English language is a must, but every individual also should know their own native language, and this essay will highlight both aspects in brief. Without any doubt, English is a global language that is supported by the developed nation as the whole population speaks it. Also, these nations are ahead of developing countries, and even their research and inventions are documented in English, to understand that, one should know the language. Also, these nations have greater opportunities for jobs and carrier growth as well as the best and most well-recognised education institutions are situated in English -speaking countries. For the following reasons, a command of good English is necessary, which can be achieved by learning it early. However, every country has a local language also, and many ancient important books, documents or journals are written in it. For this reason, one should have to know the language to interpret it and passing this knowledge to the future generation is the duty of the present population. For instance, in India, there are 4 Vedas which were written thousands of years back, an integral part of Hindus, which were written in Sanskrit. If people cannot read them, these Vedas will lose their essence. To conclude, everyone should learn English because it is a powerful language which is able to connect people with others without eliminating the importance of their own local language.