Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, custodial sentences have been a topic of debate. A school of thought holds that imprisoning criminals for a significantly long period is the best way to curb criminal activities in society, while others recommend resorting to other effective solutions. In this essay, I am going to clarify the status quo, before giving my perspectives.  There are several reasons why I believe that putting convicts behind the bars for a long time is not the only type of punishment. Instead of sending those with a light crime such as robbery, burglary and Counterfeit in jail for a long time, juvenile and minor offenders can be punished through fines, social works and other non-custodial means. Firstly, criminals do not have anything to work during their jail term, they will not be beneficial for society after being released. Secondly, the atmosphere of prison makes offenders feel more depressed, and hence it could possibly take a heavy toll on their mental health, leading to negative consequences in their lives. Finally, by keeping these small-scale criminals, we can try to rehabilitate them, for example through training or education programmes, law breakers for finding jobs in the future. In my opinion, how an individual ought to be punished depends on the nature and motive of the crime committed. There should be prolonged confinements for heinous crimes like murder and rapes as the offenders of such crimes have bad motives against human life which need to be dealt strictly.  In conclusion, from my point of view, enforcing Strict laws, such as separating criminals and keeping them in cells longer, is most unlikely and should be provisioned by police policymakers.