Food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think that it could be better to our environment and economic if people only ate local produced food. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

It is no doubt that food plays a crucial role in ensuring a healthy life. With the advanced technology present at this age, food now moves several miles from its producers to its consumers. It is believed that there would be a better outcome for both the country's economy and environment if citizens consume foods grown in their immediate environment. This essay would highlight the advantages as well as disadvantages of this approach. First of all, one notable benefit of food transport is that it promotes international trade among countries. This results from the frequent exchange of food commodities, allowing farmers to reach the international market as well as helping other countries fulfil their cuisine requirements. Similarly, it helps citizens have a range of food varieties to choose from in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Some crops have specific soil requirements which may not be locally favourable to them. For instance, apples are grown in western countries and transported to temperate regions because they can't be produced in temperate countries due to unfavourable environments. Admittedly, the movement of food across various cities has contributed greatly to environmental pollution. The use of fossil fuels by vehicles and other means of transportation causes the release of harmful gases that contribute to the depletion of the ozone layer. Moreso, it increases the overall cost of purchasing food commodities. For example, the price of locally made rice in Nigeria is far more cheaper than those of imported. In conclusion, the advantages of food transportation in encouraging international trade as well as the availability of varieties of food far outweigh its drawbacks of causing environmental pollution and increased cost.