It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Taking a gap year is becoming increasingly popular among youngsters these days. Some say this trend is fruitful while others claim this is useless. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of having a year off between high school and university. To begin, advantages of taking a gap year, one vital advantage is that it gives enough time to reflect on oneself and decide what one wants to do in life. The reason why it is true is that people will have plenty of free time once they decided to wait twelve months to go to college. In that free time, young generations can do so many different things that they are interested in and find out whether they enjoy it or not. For example, a survey shows that students who had not taken a gap year tend to change their major once they are in college while those who take a gap year are consistent with their profession. On the other hand, one disadvantage of having a year off is that one can be left behind while others are pursuing their career. To illustrate, while a person is trying to find out what they want, their age group is making progress in their academic knowledge and career. The other drawback of this trend is that youngsters can just waste their time on things such as computer games, television, parties etc. For instance, a number of people are addicted to online games since they have so much free time. To conclude, having a year off after high school graduation has the advantage of the ability to reflect and decide what is next, the disadvantage of getting left behind and wasting time can not be ignored.