Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of house hold energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of Solar energy?

It is true that in recent years, the use of solar energy is rising among houses globally. As we know, solar energy has the benefits of being eco-friendly. However, a few downsides are also observed. This essay will discuss both sides of using solar panels with specific relevance. To start with, solar energy is widely used by many house owners in the long run. The main reason is that solar energy reduces utility bills as it is a free source of service. Besides, it is environmentally friendly by not emitting any greenhouse gases into the environment. Moreover, once invested in the installation of solar panels, there is no need for any maintenance for over 30 years. For instance, in my countryside, each bungalow is empowered by solar efficacy to cut the bills and as it requires low maintenance. Hence, solar power is beneficial to society by supplanting the electricity sourced from burning natural resources. On the contrary, it also has a few disadvantages that will make many refuse its instalment. Solar panels contain cadmium which when dumped improperly might spread severe diseases in the vicinity. Also, the initial instalment is quite expensive for a few people. In addition, the panel does not extract solar heat during the nighttime or in cloudy weather conditions, as a result, might require extra batteries for power storage. A perfect example is my neighbour, who installed a solar panel on his roof but also used local electricity during the monsoon season which was a disappointment for him. Therefore, despite spending a large amount, an individual might face an irregular flow of power. To sum up, although solar energy has immense profits, it also has a few drawbacks to deal with. Thus, surely, such profits outweigh its downsides.