Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Most offenders regret their past behaviors after receiving punishment, but some do not feel guilty and keep on violating the law. The reason for these people to continue their crimes comes from many aspects of life, yet there are general measures to engage in this problem. Those who are serving imprisonment mostly spend time in their cells. The explanation given is because governments want the prisoner to have reflection on himself and truly apologize for what he has done. Although the method is trusted and has been applied ages ago, it appears to not work with some particular cases that have psychological problems involved. Therefore, one solution has been submitted: it is to maintain the previous method and effectively combine mental discipline classes throughout the process– this helps the prisoner stay mentally healthy and be conscious about the consequences of his actions. Another critically important reason is the attitude of society towards those who have had their freedom given back. Some were happily welcomed, but some were not as lucky as that, and since there was nobody to hold them back, they would blindly make mistakes again. Thus, encouraging people to treat them normally is essential as long as governments want to assure that they will be beneficial to the community again. Long story short, it is no doubt that the problem is quite complicated. But as long as authorities seriously want to settle it down, there are still many ways to handle it nicely.