Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days advertising is to be found everywhere. We see it in from of huge posters on walls, moving images on screens in city centres or through speeches on the radio all over the world. They have proven themself successful but, still it appears, that we are already so used to them that we my do not pay attention to them anymore. This essay will discuss both views and provide a personal conclusion. Starting by looking at the fact, that advertising has proven itself successful, it is surely a great way to gain customers. A good and new advert is not only an interesting eye-catcher for viewers but also an absolute necessity for new companies. Take a startup for example. If they wouldn't invest in adverts, and therefore spread their product and visibility, to wouldn't gain any customers as nobody would know them. As a matter of fact, for such businesses advertisement is the only way for us to get to know them. On the other hand is it true that, we costumers are already so used to all these adverts on the street that we do not pay attention to them anymore. This especially goes for our routine outgoings such as the daily way to work or school. Hardly anyone will stop and stare at an advert and say ‚oh yes, this is exactly what I was looking for. This is due to the fact, that most adverts are very repetitive in idea and message and from the same or similar companies. To sum up, advertising is indeed a very important tool for our economy and it is especially useful for small companies and start-ups. However, is our society these days so used to these adverts that many do not pay attention anymore due to their repetitive and similar content. I believe if an advertising campaign would demonstrate new or provocative Ideas more often people would pay more attention.