Compared to the past, people can now work in places that are far from their homes because of modern means of transportation. How has this affected the lives of workers? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having modern transportation. Support your answer with specific reasons and example.

In contemporary society, transportation has become increasingly prominent. While some contemplate that is has improved unemployment, some argue it is not worth missing out on quality family time. Personally, I strongly advocate for the former view. However, this essay will explore the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon, whereafter an opinion will be given. One paramount benefit that modern transportation offers is the unparalleled convenience it offers workers. Given this, the benefits to this are twofold; individuals are able to reside in residential areas that are far away from their workplaces and they can work across international borders. To illustrate this, Sallyport Global has over five different nationalities working for them, where employees rotate on a monthly roster. Furthermore, public transportation such as metro and busses makes it possible for people to work remotely, or attend meetings in different regions. Thus, it is essential to underscore that today's transportation is beneficial for employment. Although there is merit in contemporary transportation, it fails to accommodate a work-life balance. For example, a study done at Harvard University concluded that 85% of workers spend more than 50 hours a week at their jobs, which exceeds the recommended time of only 40 hours a week. Moreover, occupations where individuals are required to stay for a long duration can impact their families momentously. Despite this, it is imperative to find an adequate job in today's society, even if it requires travelling. In conclusion, it is evident that the advancement of transportation has influenced workers in numerous ways. Transportation allowed for more people to find jobs, while it kept them from their families in some cases. It is my contention that this phenomenon has more benefits than drawbacks. If transportation continues to improve, then more economies could benefit from a better unemployment rate in the foreseeable future.