Students leave high school without learning how to manage their money. What are the reasons and solutions for this issue?

Most graduates from high school lack the ability to manage their finances. This essay will consider the main motives, before proposing two possible solutions. One of the key causes of this issue is completely financially dependent upon parents. Since most high school students' parents pay all of their expenses, they do not need to work to get money and do not, therefore, acquire any knowledge of the realities of earning and saving money. Typically, parents are the only source of income for children, and this consists of pocket money that is intended to be spent. Young people mostly learn how to spend money rather than how to make, save, or manage it well. There are two effective solutions to the problem of students’ money management skills. One effective solution to deal with this issue is that money management skills should be added in to consider a compulsory subject which would help them to gain more knowledge and skills in order to manage their own personal finances after they leave high school. Also, education at home is the second solution for this issue. To ensure their children retain a successful and independent financial condition after graduating from college and moving out of the house, parents need to take responsibility for making sure their children receive proper education in these areas. In conclusion, money management is a challenge for many school leavers, but there are a variety of reasonable solutions to this issue.