Although there is a lot of translation software available, learning a language could still be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is beneficial for people to learn a language rather than rely heavily on translation programs. I totally agree with this notion as it engenders a deeper understanding of cultures and enhances conversations. The first reason why people should learn a language is that they will gain a more profound insight into foreign cultures. As they acquire a language, they can truly understand local customs and traditions by reading original literary works or watching documentaries. For example, a Vietnamese student who is proficient in Hindi, one of the official languages in India, would know that head shaking in India does not mean no and the gesture for yes looks like a no in other cultures. As a result, mutual misunderstandings and cultural shock are more likely to be avoided, allowing them to better adapt to a new environment. The second reason for my agreement is that language acquisition enables people to have more effective communication. They can feel more confident when entering a conversation in a foreign language, facilitating their understanding of how a sentence is structured or how a new word is applied in the right context. To illustrate, a tourist proficient in French tends to more actively interact with local people during his vacation in France, forging a stronger bond among them. As a result, this will bring an enlivening and memorable traveling experience. These benefits cannot be provided by using translation software as it will be a cold personal interaction. In conclusion, I strongly believe language translation platforms cannot replace the need to learn a new language as it fosters a process of cultural exchange and improves speakers’ communication in certain situations. Therefore, people should consider learning a language and not just rely on translation software.