More and more people are expected to be living in the urban centres in the future. What problems can be caused? Should government encourage people to settle outside the city?

Urbanization is a persuasive problem in many societies, more people would relocate to the city in the future. In this essay, I will discuss some of the problems resulting from the increased population in cities, and suggest some measures that government can introduce to tackle these issues. The major problem with the high population in the city is that it is causing congestion in many places. Finding parking in a highly crowded city is an apt example to show the adverse impact of overcrowding. Another significant issue is increased pollution, If more people live in the city, there will be an increase in the amount of domestic waste as well as air pollution caused by cars. There are, however, certain measures that can be initiated by the government to address this problem. Government should provide subsidiaries to companies for having offices away from the city, even though it is a financial burden for the government. This will encourage people to move to those places, and gradually other amenities would be developed in those places in order to entertain those people. Another strategy to move people away from the city is to develop more roads and increase the price of houses in the city. Having reduced rental expenses by living in suburban areas, the population of the city would gradually reduce, and people would use these newly constructed roads to travel to work if their offices are in the city. In conclusion, urbanization will continue to be a grave issue in many societies. In my opinion, this will adversely impact not only the environment, but also the residents; however, remedial measures from the government in the form of developing more infrastructures in the outskirts, and subsidiaries for companies that are away from the city would certainly control this issue.