Health experts claim that walking is the best exercise. However, people are walking less on a daily basis. What has made this happen and how to deal with it?

It is true that walking is an excellent exercise for people to improve their health. However, many essential reasons cause that people are not keen on walking every day. In these circumstances, many steps are supposed to be taken to deal with this problem. In my opinion, many vital reasons stop residents from walking. To start with, with the rapid development of modern society, an increasing number of people are under great stress to find a better position in society. As a result, many people spend most of their time on their studying and working, and consequently have less time to wind down themselves or exercise, such as walking outdoors. Secondly, with the progress of urbanization, more and more people migrate into urban areas to find better job opportunities, so many parks and gardens are replaced by housing land to accommodate more residents. Finally, many people are not willing to go out because they worry that the poor quality of air can cause health problems. Regarding solutions to the problems mentioned above, governments and individuals can play their own part to tackle them. Firstly, investment in infrastructure is extremely significant to provide more opportunities for citizens to walk, such as building more parks and gardens, as well as walking paths. Moreover, authorities are expected to improve the air quality in the urban areas by reducing the emission of polluted gases and planting more trees or other vegetation. Lastly, individuals can change their commuting styles in order to lead a more healthy lifestyle, for instance, commuters who travel by their private cars can part their vehicles a certain distance from their houses or workplaces, and then walk to their destinations. In conclusion, many reasons are responsible for why people walk less than before, meanwhile, there are several actions which can be taken to handle this issue.