Some people say that the best way to improve roads safety would be to increase minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motobikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether raising the lower limit of legal age for driving will work or not is controversial. In my perspective, just changing the age limit will do no good compared to education, the reformation of the roads, and the use of auto-regulation. I will provide a balanced discussion about this topic in the following sections. First, some argue that young reckless driving behaviours are risking normal people's lives. However, for example, the latest analysis by the Japanese police office has revealed that most car accidents are caused by drug and alcohol abusers or drivers under certain health conditions with prescription medication. Furthermore, an increasing number of children under eighteen years old have become victims of car accidents due to misconduct by elderlies in recent rapidly ageing societies. There should be something to change this situation. Second, there are lots of countermeasures to reduce the number of traffic accidents rather than changing the age limit for a driver's licence. For instance, arrangement or reformation of the roads such as cutting the branches of trees around the corner or putting standing mirrors in order to widen the visual sight for drivers. Education both for pedestrians and drivers at school or workplace will work as well as using auto-regulation systems in vehicles. Likewise, we have a variety of methods to prevent future terrible accidents. In conclusion, although some individuals insist they should raise the legal age for a driver's licence, its influence is little because it does not change the fundamental problems. Direct education for both drivers and non- drivers, reformation of the road, and auto-regulating system are essential for improving road safety.