School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, with the development in technology, a large number of schools tend to utilize computers for teaching. It is believed that it might have detrimental impacts on the reading and writing comprehension of youngsters. Therefore, teachers need to date back to teaching fundamental study methods instead of using computers. Personally, I partly agree with this opinion because of some reasons. Learning with top-notch equipment offers some advantages in general. Firstly, it helps students get used to the basic steps to use the computer, which is a fundamental skill for children. Secondly, there are some subjects that learning on computers is more effective than the original method. For example, learning geometry or chemistry on a computer helps children understand the lessons better because of the stunning visuals. However, only when the children use the computer too much are they dependent on it. They become lazy to write or take note of the lesson, for instance. Hence, their organization skill is not as good as children writing regularly. In addition, for reading skills, children spend more time using computers than reading any type of printed text. Therefore, they might feel it is inconvenient to read printed documents while they can access the computer. It is undeniable that advanced technology brings us some benefits. For that reason, it is wonderful if we can make use of it, particularly for educational purposes. All in all, the best way to address this problem is to balance using basic teaching skills and using computers in the classroom so that the youngsters would have comprehensive development.