Some individuals believe that keeping animals in captivity, such as in zoos, is always bad. Others argue that there are advantages for both animals and humans. Discuss all sides of the argument and provide your own opinion. You should justify your response with reasoning and examples drawn from your own knowledge and experience.

Even after they’ve developed into ‘animal parks’ or comparable facilities, zoos remain contentious. Animals are loved by the majority of humans, and there are strong opinions on both sides, which I shall explore today. People who oppose zoos point out how strange it is for animals to live in such locations. Captive animals, for example, are not required to hunt or rear young, implying that they are not living as nature intended. Furthermore, the anti-zoo movement claims that animals in captivity are likely to suffer psychologically, even if their surroundings are large and comparable to their natural environment. Mental health difficulties manifest themselves in caged animals in a variety of ways, from repetitive behaviour to eating disorders. Finally, it is sometimes said that zoos contribute nothing to animal conservation, which is best served by maintaining their natural environment. Those who favour zoos, on the other hand, argue that in most circumstances, they provide a safe and serene environment for animals, such as in high-quality wildlife parks or reserves. They go on to say that in many situations, the animals would face habitat destruction or poaching in the wild, but that in captivity, they are safe and able to reproduce effectively. Finally, zoogoers believe that zoos and animal parks are part of a larger system of animal protection that includes habitat preservation, breeding programs, and illness prevention. All of this contributes to the conservation of endangered species and, as a result, the global environment for the benefit of all living forms in the future. All in all, I believe that zoos offer a significant service to humanity and the animal kingdom by assisting in the conservation of several species. As long as they are adequately manned and maintained, this exceeds any potential downsides.