Many cities have areas where cars,taxis and buses are only used. Is this a positive or a negative development? What are the effects of this on individuals and society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience

Transportation is an issue in most areas and the only means are taxis and buses. This is a negative development in my opinion and this essay is going to discuss how it affects individuals and society at large. To begin with, limited means of transport affect the inhabitants of the community. This is because there would be difficulties in accessing cars to work as there are no trains which can accommodate quite a large number of people. Also, this would result in exorbitant charges from drivers of taxis and buses as they will now be serving as the only source of commuting. In cases of emergencies, getting access to a car to transport someone to the hospital would be difficult as well. For example, pregnant women living in such cities would have to find alternative means of transport in cases where they go into labour during odd hours. This would deter people from settling in such a city as transportation is one of the factors people consider before moving to a new location. Secondly, fewer transport options have a toll on society. This reduces trade and business opportunities as many investors would not work in an area with a limited number of cars. This would make the transfer of goods difficult. In addition, tourist sites in such communities would see less patronage as well. This would lead to a retrogression in the development of the city. For instance, investors from Europe would most likely build a factory for production which would also serve as a source of employment for the youth of the town in a town which is developed and has more cars than one with limited means of transport. In conclusion, I believe an increased number of transport systems would be beneficial to society as limited means of transport makes it difficult for people to reside in such communities and also pushes potential investors away.