Task 2: Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people suppose that it should be obligatory for the young generation to take responsibility for the old when then they are unable to take care of themselves in terms of physical, mental and financial aspects. While I believe that there are some difficulties for the young to do so, I agree with this notion. On the one hand, there are several disadvantages when younger family members have to take care of their grandparents or parents when they get old. Firstly, young people may be overloaded with various issues at their first step of life, from career development to making a living to marriage issues. Therefore, being responsible for other family members can place an extra burden on the young, who still lack life experience and stable financial conditions. Besides, there are several cases in which young people can not stay beside and take care of their families. For example, during the Covid quarantine period, lockdowns happened worldwide without flights, preventing people who are living far from home from coming back with their families. Despite the aforementioned difficulties, I am of the opinion that the young generation should be legally responsible for supporting the elder in their family. Firstly, emotional support from offspring may help the old become happier and more positive, so there is a greater likelihood that they can overcome numerous health risks and loneliness in their twilight ages. Moreover, receiving care from young family members is more beneficial than from strangers, when the young can understand clearly the habits and hobbies of their parents, so they can give better care, especially in terms of the physical aspect. Furthermore, even if the young are living far from home, they should support their parents financially, for example, by buying necessary medicines or paying hospital fees. To summarize, although it is disadvantageous for the young to support older family members, I am more convinced that it should be compulsory for them to be responsible for taking care of their grandparents or parents when they are unable to look after themselves.