Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to a technological revolution, a great deal of information is available in different languages to whoever needs it which Leeds to urgency in learning a foreign language. Although it is a great idea to start this journey in the early years of education, there is still debate whether to commence in primary school or secondary school. Of course, there are some advantages and disadvantages to each case. One of the advantages of starting to learn a foreign language in primary school is the efficiency. The younger the child, the more prepared the brain is. According to the studies, children can learn up to 7 languages simultaneously when they are younger. Thus, it is a great opportunity to benefit from this ability and educate them. Another advantage of starting early would be the fact that by the time children reach secondary school, they already are equipped with one more language compared to their peers. They can watch educational programs in different languages and learn more diverse information. On the other hand, consuming up a child’s time could be a disadvantage. Children can focus on mathematics and science instead of a foreign language and master them before starting to learn a new language. Moreover, some children might not be proficient in their language, and adding an extra language to their curriculum might discourage them from the whole education process. In conclusion, I believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and it is advisable to start a foreign language at primary schools. This will give children leverage over their peers when they all reach university age. They can communicate with a broader range of students and read more diverse books and consider ideas from broader perspectives.