Task 2: The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve the crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the current offence rate is reducing compared to the past thanks to technological development's role in preventing and addressing unlawful acts. Although there are several criminal activities committed with the help of technology, I am more convinced that cutting-edge technology can bring more advantages to decreasing the crime rate. On the one hand, I believe that various new types of crimes have appeared with the advance in technology. To begin with, many crucial data systems can be illegally accessed and stolen by hackers with support from modern computers and sophisticated codes. Besides, there may be an increasing number of white-collar crimes, when criminals are able to utilize technology to access companies’ systems to steal information and money. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that state-of-the-art technology can work as an effective tool to lower the crime rate. Firstly, technology can support the police in tracking offenders’ crime evidence, using blood samples, fingerprints, skin patches, or hair and dental samples. Another example is that camera systems in public places may record all activities of citizens, including criminal activities such as pickpocketing, shoplifting, and robbery. Moreover, lawbreakers in jail may be under strict and constant control of developed technology devices, so they might tend to follow crime sentences more seriously. Furthermore, technology can also manage people who are released from prison, so that it can support in preventing them from re-offending. To summarize, although technology can be misused in some cases, I support the notion that technology can have more benefits in decreasing the rate of crime.