Some people believe that goverment is wasting money on the art and that this money could be better spent somewhere else. To what extent do you agree with this view.

Some arguments appear that the art does not worth consuming financial resources by the government and a rather better idea could possibly be to invest the money in other areas. To some extent, it is agreed that the government ought to spend the money on the arts. However, providing financial assistance to public service departments could lead to the progression and advancement of the state. Spending money on art such as music, theatre, paintings, handcrafts and sculptures is a must for a state as it plays a significant role in preserving the nation's history and heritage for the new generations. Not only that, but also does it promote a feeling of national solidarity. Therefore, it is crucial for a country to invest money in art and provide the general public with enough opportunities to visit museums and art galleries. However, priority should be given to common public services and money should be invested in these areas because it is the basic right of the general public to be provided with high-quality basic facilities such as health facilities, education and food. Underdeveloped countries are mostly unable to meet these basic needs of daily life which make citizens frustrated and deprived. Furthermore, if a state invests more financial resources in the above-mentioned areas, it will most probably result in improved life quality of an average person which in turn could result in the better professional performance of people in their respective fields. Hence, this could give a huge boost to the economy of the country. In conclusion, art is worth spending money on since it is the most significant way to preserve history and culture for the descendants. However, in underdeveloped countries, basic public services are required to be given priority to invest the money as basic human rights can not be compromised.