Some people think that Government should take measures to improve the health of its citizens. Others think it must be managed by individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is now debatable whether authorised people should attend to their public health or it is solely responsible to each individual. In this essay, the consequences of both perspectives will be clarified as well as my own ideas. Seemingly, there are two reasons why it is wise to say that the responsibility for public health goes to the government. Firstly, today's working hours are extremely unpleasant to hear. This implies that citizens do not have much spare time to do something beneficial to their health. Obviously, this problem cannot be tackled by anyone apart from the government. For instance, adding a new legislation concerning working hours to the existing working policies might be of significant help to its public because mere citizens cannot make it happen. Secondly, some people are apathetic about their health while others are tempted only by prizes and acknowledgement rather than the benefits gained from being healthy. To encourage such kinds of people, only the government has the power to hold regular activities and competitions with enticing rewards. On the other hand, although the country's authorised people do a lot of costly projects and measures, if the citizens neither obey the regulations nor feel enthusiastic, there is nothing we can do for them. In other words, it is ultimately contingent upon individuals as the saying suggests, "Nobody can change us unless we have a willing mind". Another striking factor is that relying too much on others is not always an option. For example, many countries nowadays are democratic nations which means the government cannot intervene that much with people's lives. They can only encourage the public to certain extent to take care of themselves and nothing more. In such cases, we cannot do anything but try to have control over our minds to avoid unhealthy living styles or not to eat unhealthy food. Hopefully, this manner may enhance our self-commitment ability.  In conclusion, I would argue that people should not always place the blame on the government for their discomfort. Instead, they must try to depend only on themselves and accept their own fates.