Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are people claiming that each popular TV programme on recreation should focus on the education of crucial social issues. In my opinion, even though it is a good way to spread social issues through TV shows that hold considerable numbers of viewers, it is an exorbitant demand and put the cart before the horse for entertainment show. Those in favor of enhancing the awareness of social problems through popular TV shows believe that most popular TV shows like comedies, music shows, variety are delivering less value and it is a waste of time to watch TV just for entertainment purposes, thus changing the goal to educate the audience on crucial social problems can increase their social value. For the other programmes that are People watch TV entertainment shows because they can release pressure and make them feel relax, and if too many educational factors are put into the shows, people will lose their interest in watching them, which will reduce their popularity. For example, Big Bowl is one of the most famous TV shows and people like to watch it for fun, and if the show changed its target from entertaining people to educating them, it will not be as relaxing as before to watch it. For entertainment programmes like comedies, cartoons and so on, entertaining the audience should be the first target, and with the scope of ability they may take some educational content about social problems like climate change, gender equality etc into consideration. In conclusion, Entertaining TV shows can add some elements and contents on social issues education, however, changing purpose will make them less popular and they should still take enetertainment function as the first priority instead of education. Furthermore, educational channels that are concentrated on some social issues, some documentaries on climate change for example, should be promoted wider to receive more followers.