Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Nowadays, many people are drowning in debt as a result of spending too much money on unnecessary items which can be way over their budgets. Current social trends and online shopping platforms could influence an individual to become a shopaholic, and thus one should create a personal financial plan as a preventive action. To begin with, there are many reasons why people tend to buy expensive, yet non-essential things. Social media is one of the factors leading to this issue. New products are often seen on social media feed when friends or colleagues show off those things. As people are more often exposed to this kind of content, there is more possibility that they would end up developing the desire to buy certain products, following the trends. In addition, the increase in shopping channels, especially online platforms could make shopping to be much more convenient than before. As a result, one could make an impulsive decision without deliberately considering whether the product is really needed and whether the price is reasonable. In order to successfully prevent themselves from purchasing too many goods, people should create a financial plan by considering their incomes and try to allocate leftover money specifically for spending on unnecessary stuff. To illustrate, individuals can limit only five percent of their monthly salary to purchase unneeded items, and if that product is more affordable then they should wait and save the money. Therefore, they have an opportunity to rethink about the cost to spend and the benefits of this product. In conclusion, many people are affected by social media and the convenience of modern shopping, causing them to waste money on non-essential things. To prevent this issue, they should plan and constrain their budget in advance for those items. I, personally, think that everyone should carefully consider when purchasing to better save their money more effectively.