It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Knowing the path to the right deeds is a necessity in everyone's life. At a young age, it becomes essential to distinguish right from wrong. One way to help children learn this difference is by punishing them. From my perspective, I completely agree that punishment is important to help the young ones learn this distinction. On one hand, punishment becomes significant in allowing the youngsters to discover the difference between right and wrong by showing the consequence of their wrongdoing. For instance, if a child steals a friend's pen, or in a quarrel hurts a classmate unintentionally and gets punished for that, it would help him or her realize that mistakes would have outcomes and he or she should face the music. Moreover, fear of punishment will make children avoid improper acts and hence they will misbehave less, therefore, they will confront fewer issues and consequences. On the other hand, severe punishment that leads to children's embarrassment, and corporal ones that cause physical harm should be avoided if teachers and parents intend to teach good behaviour. In other words, mild punishment such as taking their allowance, having them do household chores, or depriving them of their favourite toys or games would discipline even the most rebellious children more than spanking or scolding them. In conclusion, from my viewpoint, punishing youngsters is a necessity for helping them recognize the difference between right and wrong. Although mild punishment would be more beneficial and encouraging to have a better attitude than corporal and severe one.