In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Recently, mega malls and large supermarkets attracted more customers than the smaller ones which lead to their closure. Although some believe such development is quite positive, others including me think that the side effects would outweigh the benefits. This change would affect the local businesses and their economy, while may monopolising the shopping industry. Both ideas will be discussed in this essay. The first negative effect of this development is applying economic pressure on local businesses which leads to their corruption. For instance, losing clients due to unfair competition between a local business and a large shopping centre ends up in the bankruptcy of the smaller ones. Consequently, many people who work in local stores would lose their job, while the owners would be beaten more hardly. In addition, the significance of this issue would touch the whole local people and their dependents. Secondly, shopping centres are able to monopolize the industry. For instance, retail corporations with a chain of hypermarkets have the power to reduce the prices of the goods to win the battle with the local shops. In the next step, after they win the competition, they can sell the products at whatever price they want to compensate for their loss. As a result, clients should pay more to be able to afford the goods compared to the older prices. In conclusion, although large centres facilitate the life of their patrons, there are hidden side effects which affect people's lives and the economy. Losing jobs and higher prices are the first two important side effects of such development, which could apply more costs to families. Thus, this change should be monitored and taxed carefully by governments to prevent major economic consequences.