Some people believe that in order to reduce crime, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion.

Homo sapiens have a tendency to break the moral conduct from which they have formed civilization over centuries, in a moment of desire. Thus risen crime prevalence should be counteracted with longer prison sentences according to some opinionated, while others believe in novel methods. This essay discusses both aspects, siding with the alternative means. Firstly, more time in lockups provides direct security for society and accounts for a lesser amount of money. To elaborate further, some dangerous underworld gangs can be restrained by putting them behind bars for a lifetime, diminishing their activity for a long time. The direct cost of a such endeavour seems to be low as of the poor conditions provided for prisoners compared to the loss from their crimes. For example, it has been shown that life imprisonment of drug cartels has reduced the cost of the rehabilitation of drug addicts. Secondly, other ways than prisons like uplifting lives of the underprivileged tend to be more sustainable. Furthermore, the root course of sin lies in the hatred for the system due to lack of opportunities and amenities. This prompts people to fight against inequity to thrive using abundantly available paths like sex trafficking or selling heroin. When the equity is insured via education and other facilities, they become exposed to a wide variety of choices for future, rather than criminal enterprises. For instance, it was observed that free and quality education significantly reduces the number of kids becoming gangsters. Hence, a decline in criminals can be achieved by either extended periods of punishment or improving the lifestyle of the less privileged. However, in conclusion, the second option seems to be effective and long-prevailing as of the continuous replacement of felons, after the previous lot was sentenced.