Every year, more and more students choose to study online rather than attend classes on campus. What do you think are the causes of this? What solution can you suggest?

The online class is becoming increasingly popular globally. Yearly, the number of enlistment taking online courses rather than traditional classes on campus keeps rising. This essay will discuss the reasons for this increasing trend and also give possible solutions. To begin with, studying online is readily affordable. Most courses online are cheap while some are free and easily accessible. Thus, most students that cannot afford to take lectures in school because of the huge cost settle for online classes with almost similar qualities to classroom lectures. For instance, most foreign students that cannot afford Ivy League schools like Harvard University, take the university online lectures which are significantly cheaper in their respective countries. Furthermore, online classes are convenient as lectures can be taken in leisure time and assignments submitted without a strict deadline. This made studying to be under less pressure and enjoyable. This trend can be reduced by making college education affordable for all. This will give everyone an equal opportunity to study. This can be achieved by improving scholarship schemes and making them accessible for all students especially the ones that cannot afford college fees. For example, less than half of scholarship applicants are successful yearly and a majority of the students that could not get this opportunity opt for online classes. Thus, to improve class attendance on campus, education should be made affordable for all while retaining its quality. To summarize, this essay discussed that the cost-effectiveness of online courses is the major cause of the shift from campus class attendance while reducing the cost of offline learning will significantly change the trend.