In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this massage?

There has been a controversy about whether parents should tell their children that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. I think its advantages outweigh its disadvantages and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, they can establish self-confidence. As we know, self-confidence is of the utmost importance nowadays, and it is derived from a person's family background. For instance, if a person is told since a kid that nothing is impossible, then when he faces any obstacles in the future, he won't lose his courage and believes he can surmount these obstructions. On the contrary, if a person who receives his family education is the other way around, then when he starts doing some real business, he will become indecisive and afraid of failure. It's worth mentioning that good self-confidence is vital for social intercourse; your personal potency can be promoted by the confidence you radiate. Second, children's ambition can be nourished. It's expected that some parents support their kids' dreams; some don't. For example. There has been a story, a farmer's son who wants to study at a top university and be a wealthy man in the future. However, his father doesn't support him and calls it an unrealistic dream. In this case, the son's family shapes his view and affects his outlook. If he has been told since a kid that everything has been achievable, the result might be different. On the other hand, this way of education can bring arrogance to kids. For instance, today's young people are weak at dealing with their social circle, especially their superiors. They think as long as they have the ability to do this job, a promotion is in sight; nevertheless, the reality is not always rosy, because luck and other factors are crucial as well sometimes. In conclusion, I believe the merits of telling kids that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough outstrip its demerits.