In many countries, it is very easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, this causes some people to have problems with debts they cannot pay back. Do you think the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

These days credit cards are becoming ubiquitous in every corner of the world. Undoubtedly they are crucial for most people, but, sadly, many incur significant debt they cannot pay off. In my opinion, the downsides of the credit system are deleterious, so to reap the benefits and conveniences of such a handy tool, several checks and balances must be instigated. For a start, there are many obvious advantages to having a credit card. Firstly, they are beneficial in extreme situations. Suppose a person is in a foreign country and has their wallet stolen, for example. In that case, they can easily and quickly get a card to pay for emergency accommodation and transport. Likewise, if one has unexpected bills, they can use the card and reimburse this large sum over time. Furthermore, cards have the additional benefit of enabling easy online purchasing from anywhere in the world, and the timely payment of the bill helps improve one's financial rating. On the other hand, there are some serious concerns regarding credit cards, primarily out-of-control spending, debt, and predatory lenders. For example, many people have poor financial literacy and do not understand the basics of the debt system. Predatory lenders target such customers and subject them to hidden fees and exorbitant interest rates. Before long, they find themselves in financial ruin: they have spent more than they can afford to pay back and sometimes must file for bankruptcy. In conclusion, I argue that this problem has a simple solution: education! The problem will be significantly reduced if every school student is taught how to use finance safely and effectively. Whatsmore, the government must put in place measures to police and regulate the companies that lend finance to protect the populace from unscrupulous tactics. While these problems certainly are serious, I believe that credit cards are essential in modern life, and we need to learn to use them wisely and effectively.