The amount of drinkable water for people is decreasing. Why is this? What can be done?

It is undeniable that freshwater is one of the most integral and important aspects of daily life, however, it is a scarce resource. the decline in drinkable water could be attributed to several factors which will be elucidated in this essay, and viable solutions will be suggested. To commence, the main reason behind the diminishing freshwater amount is the population explosion. To illustrate, when there was an uncontrolled expansion in the humankind, pressure was put on available water resources to serve this overpopulation that needed a higher demand for drinking water and water for agriculture which caused water scarcity in many places. A prominent example is The North Africa regions where they are currently unable to meet their basic water demand. Furthermore, climate change has led to shortage of freshwater by increasing the heat on earth. More specifically, since the heat has risen, the drought phenomena has appeared, and people who live in lack of water area have competed to fulfill their daily need. Thus, this created an international conflict over control of available quantities, for instance, the famous crisis, nowadays, between Egypt and Ethiopia over the Nile River Dam. In order to tackle this problem, the authorities should come forward to conserve and protect water resources. In another word, if governments commenced finding alternative methods to new sources of water, this would relieve pressure on the aqueous source, such as desalinating sea water which means the removal of salts and minerals to produce water suitable for human consumption or irrigation. In addition, educating people on the judicious use of water is a must. This means that the nations should launch campaigns in public places by putting fliers about the importance of using H2O wisely and stop wasting fresh water, for instance, in subway stations, worships places, schools, and public gardens. What can be said is that water is a finite resource, and there needs to be compromise and cooperation between all countries to provide water management techniques. In conclusion, after this essay has shown the above points, it can be noticed that the government leaders should be aware how water is a finite resource and try to tackle the underlying causes of this phenomenon.