Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that reading the newspaper and watching the news on television broadcasts are a waste of time since they have no association with people's lives. I strongly oppose the former statement and will give my reasons below. To begin with, reading news is the most effective way to take in information, providing readers with a wealth of social knowledge. Important news and political announcements are often officially broadcasted on television or displayed in the newspaper. Without reading both online and traditional newspapers, people will be missed out on important information such as inflation rate, house prices, taxation or contagious plagues. Perhaps the best example of this is the outbreak of covid 19 pandemic that took place in 2020 taking thousands of lives across the globe, if people had not spent time reading the news and watching TV news channels, they would not have known the symptoms of this dangerous disease and how to protect themselves from it. This demonstrated I believe that reading the information in the newspaper and watching TV news programs can certainly better improve our knowledge about the countries we are living in and the world's dramatical events. In addition, grasping information through newspapers and TV broadcasters is an efficient way to learn about a culture of a country. By reading newspapers and watching TV news, readers come across a plethora of images of another country which is located far away from them. These images portray perfectly the life of indigenous peoples, they illustrate intricately the cuisine, language, religious rituals and traditional clothes. BBC news, a British news youtube channel, for example, they have filmed a video about Geisha, Japanese women who perform a variety of artistic skills. They interviewed a Geisha in a bid to gain a sound understanding of her job. I would argue that reading the news is the best way to learn about another culture in a short limited time. In conclusion, reading the news and watching TV news programs have connected deeply with people's lives as the public will acquire useful knowledge about the world's events and have a better understanding of international cultures.