Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

People have different views on whether teachers should give children homework or not. While some argue that homework should be mandatory for a child to excel in a particular subject or skill, I personally believe that having homework as a mandatory thing is fine until it doesn't pressurise the kids and cause them mental agony. There are various reasons why people recommend doing homework plays a vital part in one's learning. Primarily, the student can get a recap of the lessons that he learned on a particular day while solving the homework and it also serves as a revision and practice. Moreover, the child could develop a lot of doubts regarding the subject when he/she tries to solve them at home. For instance, when a student gets stuck while trying to solve a homework assignment, he would browse over the internet or some other related books. By self-exploring and learning he could learn many more related concepts. Finally, it could also serve as an indicator of a scholar's performance which can help the tutor to recognise his/her status and take measures as soon as possible if it is worse. On the flip-side, homework can put a lot of pressure on the young learning population since in most of school's punishments are given if they are left incomplete. Also due to peer pressure, an academically weak student would copy the answers from online resources or even from his friends to make sure he doesn't feel as the odd one out which makes the child's situation even worse. Finally, students are left with no time to play or to do some physical activity which further affects the student's health. To conclude, I opine that doing homework contributes to several academic advantages, but they should have a specific limit. Overloading the students with such work can affect them mentally and it can reflect negatively on their academic progress.