Write about the following topic. Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

An athlete has always brought prosperity and fame to the country by winning medals and performing best in world tournaments. However, some believe that government should use the money on such programmes which can assist people to stay healthy and energetic rather than spending on a few sportsmen. I partially agree with this statement to some extent. To begin with, we should keep investing in athletes to train them properly. As they are the ones who make our nation proud at the highest level like Olympic and commonwealth games. Moreover,the athletes are treated hero and role model for the young generation as they tend to follow them a lot and hopes to become one day like them. For example, I still remember that time when Shahid Afridi a cricketer played a huge role in making Pakistan successful in a World cup had made him so popular among the public that many wished to become like him and some even started practising to keep them physically fit and warm. To summarize they do not play a vital role in spreading a country's positive image but also they are motivation to many youngsters to be ruthlessly fit. In my state, there are no activities and practices which can encourage the natives to take care of their diet by the government bodies. Firstly there are very few grants available and yet they are being used properly. The government should take into account that they should also invest money and look after the same way as they do for games. For instance, in my capital, there is hardly one funfair where the public can take part in and compete with other teams for the win. There should be certain seminars for benefit of enjoying the healthiest life and short-term PHYSICALLY practices need to be organized after every week. To conclude, authorities must give equal care and funding to both athletes and the public in order to not earn respect globally but also to get the maximum out of their nation to achieve something bigger.