Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

In the current era, some countries are largely dependent on other countries to meet their food demands. This essay explains the several drawbacks and a plethora of advantages of this trend. On the one hand, It is inevitable that a single country can not cultivate all variations of food commodities. In fact, due to the geographical location of countries, each may be best suited for developing a limited set of products. Therefore, importing food enables citizens to have access to all types of products. This can increase the health rate of nations that are performing poorly in domestic production. For example, African countries that are located in poor climate conditions for farming, are taking advantage of this trend. In addition, if countries make contractions about importing and exporting foods based on their requirements, they can progress economically. On the other hand, as there are two sides to a coin, a country had better not be entirely dependent on other countries to meet their nutritional needs. A dependent nation may confront famine and starvation if foreign countries cease exporting food. Also, if a nation refuses to purchase indigenous goods, vacancies in agricultural sectors may go unfilled and farmers may seek other employment opportunities. This incident can lead to economic crises and downturns. To sum up, I believe if there are no other choices, importing foods can be beneficial. Yet exceeding in utilizing imported foods and refusing to stay loyal to local production can adversely affect the economical situation. Thus keeping the balance is the best choice.