Nowdays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organisation why might this be this case ? What could be the disadvantages of being self employed.

In recent times, an increasing number of people are choosing to work for themselves rather than being employees of organisations. I believe this preference may be because of its flexible working hour structure and potential to earn more. However, this working structure has its own set of drawbacks as well. The most prominent reason why more and more individuals are preferring to start their own company is that it provides an opportunity to maximize their earnings. This means that when a person thrives to get remarkable sales for his firm, those profits belong to him, whereas in the case of employment, he might be entitled to a certain amount of salary only. Moreover, in an organisation where he is his own boss, he can choose to plan his work schedules as per his comfort. However, this freedom of time is not possible in case a person works under a manager or a senior. A freelancer, for instance, who is also a new parent, may prefer to work during the nap time of his child. On the other hand, such cooperation may not be given by an employer. Thus, having more disposable income and a better work -life balance are the prominent factors in choosing self-employment over a salaried job. Despite offering some appealing benefits, running an organisation all by oneself could be stressful and burdensome. Since one person is in charge of all the departments of work, ranging from planning sales, operations and administration, marketing the product and providing after-sales services, he could feel over-burdened with so many responsibilities. Eventually, many people might want to quit. Moreover, an entrepreneur may have to deal with the initial years of financial instability which may impact his standards of living as well. An employee, for instance, gets a fixed salary credited to his bank account every month which aids in providing for his needs and gives him a sense of financial security, whereas such is not the case of self-employment. Hence, entrepreneurship is a hard journey to take. In conclusion, self-employed individuals do get to explore their full potential in terms of making profits and also enjoy autonomy of time, nevertheless, they have to deal with hardships such as unstable finances, and immense mental pressures, to name a few.