Many young children have unsupervised access to the internet and are using the internet to socialize with others. This can lead to a number of dangerous situations which can be threatening for children. What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision? How can these problems be solved?

Undoubtedly, the Internet is an unlimited tool, that is being used by all humans globally. Having children access the website without supervision, means that they interact with whoever is behind the screen. This exposes them to several dangers, as will be illustrated in the following paragraphs, in addition to some approaches to tackle such a challenge. One of the problems that may result when youngsters and kids come across various content which is unsuitable for their age group, is the serious psychological shock that they can face. This impact might be long-lasting and impair their ability to develop a proper and mature perspective about life. Also, children might get exposed to bad influencers and start mimicking any persons or situations which might be inappropriate. Moreover, talking to strangers in chat rooms, or on social platforms is a potentially dangerous issue. To grabble with these problems, two implications can be applied. Firstly, supervision from parents is extremely necessary whenever possible. Nonetheless, if parents are not available all the time, there are special protective measures that families can use. For example, software programs that can be downloaded, and allow only particular websites to open according to the age stage. Secondly, A broader intervention should be implemented by higher authorities. To illustrate this, all browsing tools should require personal identification proof -including age- in order to have access, hence an automatic filtration of the content takes place. In conclusion, free Internet browsing can make young people susceptible to either emotional or physical threats. However, more attention needs to be paid by parents in addition to protective filters from hardware and software stakeholders.